Montgomery County Elected Officials

Since 1970, Montgomery County has had an Executive-Council form of government with a County Charter, which serves as Montgomery County's constitution. The County Executive is responsible for preparing an annual capital and operating budget, appointments to most county boards and commissions, vetoing or approving Council-passed legislation, and appointing the directors of county agencies who act as the county executive's cabinet. These directors implement county policy.

The County Executive is:
The Honorable Douglas M. Duncan
County Executive Office Building
2nd Floor 101 Monroe Street
Rockville, MD 20850
Fax: 240-777-2517

The Montgomery County Council is the Legislative Branch of County Government. It has nine (9) members all of whom are elected together by the voters for a four-year term. The terms of the present Council, elected November 2002, began at noon December 2, 2002 and will continue until Noon on December 4, 2006, the first Monday in December.

Five members of the Council are elected from districts. As with other legislative bodies, these districts are drawn on the basis of U.S. census figures compiled every ten years and, as close as possible, must have the same number of people. All registered voters in the County elect the remaining four members of the Council at-large.

The present members of the County Council are:
Steve Silverman (D) - At-Large
Michael L. Subin (D) - At-Large
Nancy Floreen (D) - At-large
George Leventhal (D) - At-large
Howard Denis (R) - District 1 (Bethesda/Chevy Chase)
Mike Knapp (D) - District 2 (Potomac/Up-County)
Phil Andrews (D) - District 3 (Gaithersburg/Rockville/Aspen Hill)
Marilyn J. Praisner (D) - District 4 (Silver Spring/Olney)
Tom Perez (D) - District 5 (Takoma Park/Silver Spring)

All council members may be reached by writing, faxing, or calling the Council at:
Montgomery County Council
Stella B. Werner Council Office Building
100 Maryland Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850
Fax: 240-777-7989

The Montgomery County Government website is located at The Council's e-mail address is

By addressing your letter to the President of the Council, it will be distributed to the entire County Council.

The Council's Responsibilities

The responsibilities of the County Council are specified in part by the County Charter and in part by Maryland State law. Some of the Council's principle responsibilities are:

  • Enacting all County laws and amendments to the Zoning Ordinance;
  • Reviewing, revising, and approving all land use plans, such as the general plan, area master plans, and sector plans prepared by the Planning Commission. The Council also reviews and approves functional master plans such as the Master Plan for Agricultural Preservation, the Master Plan of Bikeways, Parks, Recreation and Open Space Plan, and the Master Plan for Historical Preservation.
  • Acting on all zoning applications;
  • Appropriating monies to fund the budgets, and setting the local property tax rate and other local tax rates within the County's authority;
  • Reviewing and approving the six-year Capital Improvements, Public Services, and Fiscal Policy Programs;
  • Reviewing and approving the County Ten-Year Solid Waste, and Water Supply and Sewerage Systems Plans;
  • Acting on or initiates reorganization plans for the County government's executive branch;
  • Serving as the Board of Health for Montgomery County; and Directing and reviewing the independent annual audit of County government operations.